The love languages explained with a cheese board

So, you are thinking of ideas to make your Valentine feel special. A romantic setting, long-stemmed glasses, and a delicious cheese board. Will they like it?

You might have heard of Dr Gary Chapman’s best-selling book, The 5 Love Languages. He explains that individuals give and receive love in different ways, and everybody has their preferred love language. According to his theory there are five love languages:

  1. Acts of service: actions speak louder than words.
  2. Gifts: a thoughtful gift goes straight to the heart.
  3. Quality time: receiving someone’s undivided attention means they truly care.
  4. Words of affirmation: hearing from someone why they love you and what they see in you confirms their feelings for you.
  5. Physical touch: a tender touch, a hug, a kiss – all ingredients of the recipe of love.

Which love language resonates the most with you? And more importantly, what is your Valentine’s love language? There is a free online quiz that can help you identify your love language at

At Kefalos we believe surprising your loved one with a delicious cheese board can go far in showing them how much you love them, especially if you consider their love language. This is how you can approach it:

  1. Acts of service: don’t let them lift a finger. You need to prepare everything and just let them sit back and enjoy it.
  2. Gifts: make a small gift part of the cheese display or use a personalised heart-shaped cheese board which they get to keep.
  3. Quality time: enjoy the cheese board where you will not be disrupted. Take your time to look each other in the eyes and listen attentively.
  4. Words of affirmation: if you are nervous that you will stumble over your words, consider making little paper flags on toothpicks with an attribute you love written on each one. Stick them in the cheese and fruit on the board.
  5. Physical touch: cosy up and share bites of cheese.

Who said being cheesy is not romantic!